Greater Westfield Chamber of Commerce

The Springfield Symphony Orchestra Plays American Women Composers and Scheherazade

January 15, 2019
Bethany Petano
413.733.0636 Ext. 121

SPRINGFIELD, MA. – Join the Springfield Symphony Orchestra (SSO) for the third classical concert of their 75th Anniversary Season on Saturday, February 2, at Symphony Hall in downtown Springfield. In addition to Rimsky-Korsakov’s famous piece Scheherazade, the orchestra will perform three pieces by celebrated American women composers; Amy Beach, the high matriarch of American women composers, Joan Tower, and Jennifer Higdon, one of the most acclaimed living American composers.

“The SSO recognizes the rightful place of American women composers in the history of orchestral music,” says Susan Beaudry, Executive Director of the SSO, “We’re delighted to utilize the extra excitement around our 75th Anniversary Season to uplift the works of these brilliant women.”

This classical concert begins the SSO’s celebration of American women composers, playing pieces by women composers and featuring women soloists for the majority of the concerts in the remainder of their 75th Anniversary Season.

“When planning a season, I always review our past seasons to see which works or composers are due for special attention. For this 75th Anniversary Season, I knew I would be planning a lot of blockbuster audience favorites.” says SSO Music Director Kevin Rhodes, “However, I felt it was also very important to feature works by current composers living and working in the 21st Century since great music is not just a thing of the past. While reviewing possible works to feature, I was intrigued by the striking trend that so many of these exciting new pieces were written by American women composers. I then decided that this group of composers was deserving of special attention given their relative absence on concerts for most of the history of concert music. With all of that in mind, it gives me great pleasure to feature not just great new music, but to make a special focus on great new music by the group of composers least present on past programs.”

This concert also marks the return of SSO Concert Master, Masako Yanagita who missed the first few concerts of the 75th season due to an injury. Ticket-holders are invited to join Maestro Rhodes at Symphony Hall from 6:30 - 7:00 p.m. for Classical Conversations, an informative and informal discussion about the evening’s program led by the Maestro himself. This special pre-concert educational opportunity is free for all ticket-holders and is made possible by the Anthony P. Lovell Memorial Fund.

During the second half of the evening’s program, patrons are also invited to participate in the Real-Time Concert Notes program. Instead of receiving text messages throughout the performance, patrons attending this concert will log on to the XXGlen smartphone app to receive the real-time text updates about the piece being played during the second half of the evening’s program. The application is optimized to darken the screen and quiet notifications during concert time so as to not disturb other patrons. The SSO is licensed to use the publishing platform which is the property of XXGLEN LLC.

Concert-goers can visit the information table in the lobby of Symphony Hall before the concert begins to learn more about XXGlen, download the app to their phone and elevate their concert-night experience.

Tickets for this evening’s concert start at $22 and subscriptions for several concerts start at $65. Subscriptions and single tickets are available online at or by phone at 413.733.2291.

Tickets may also be purchased at our Box Office at 1441 Main Street across from Tower Square, Monday through Friday from 9:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m., on Concert Saturdays from  1:00 – 3:30 p.m., and at Symphony Hall (34 Court Street, Springfield, MA) on concert nights from 6:00 – 7:30 p.m.

About the Springfield Symphony Orchestra

The Springfield Symphony Orchestra has been part of the cultural landscape of the Pioneer Valley since 1944 and performs a series of classical and popular music concerts at Springfield Symphony Hall. For more information on a particular performance or the 2018 – 2019 concert season, call the SSO Box Office at 413-733-2291 or visit

Go back