Greater Westfield Chamber of Commerce

The Greater Westfield Chamber of Commerce 2010 Annual Meeting and Business of the Year Awards

The Greater Westfield Chamber of Commerce held its 2010 Annual Meeting on Wednesday, November 17, 2010 at Tekoa Country Club and featured a presentation from Mayor Knapik about the future of the city, an introduction to the new 2011 Chamber Officers and Board Members and the 2010 Business Awards presentation.

2010 Business of the Year: Jen-Coat

files/content/news/2010/Westfield_awards_ph1.jpgBill Parks, Jim Kaufman and Kathleen Witalisz

The first award presented was for 2010 Business of the Year. The criteria for this award includes: evidence of policies and projects that have a positive impact on the community, evidence of working together with community organizations and acting as a role model and inspiration to other organizations. The winner this year was Jen-Coat, a privately held company that was founded in 1972 to provide specialty coating and laminating to a small group of customers. Today the business includes two plants totaling 370,000 square feet. Jen-Coat supplies the food packaging, heath care and industrial markets with extrusion coated and laminated, metallized, and adhesive laminated structures. Representing Jen-Coat at the event was Jim Kaufman and other members of the Jen-Coat team.

2010 Small Business of the Year: Stevens 470

files/content/news/2010/Westfield_awards_ph4.jpgRobert Burch, Tina Stevens, Kathleen Doe, Alison Gray and Justin Friend

The second award presented was for 2010 Small Business of the Year. The criteria for this honor includes: providing substantial impact in the community given its size and strength in the marketplace, able to demonstrate outstanding leadership and vision, forward plans for substantial growth and is an inspiration to other businesses. The winner this year was Stevens 470. Stevens 470 has been servicing clients for over 20 years, growing from specialty studio design and marketing for print and packaging to full service agency providing strategic marketing, communication media and web development. The company consists of an experienced team of marketing strategists, designers and web developers. Representing Stevens 470 at the event was Tina Stevens and her entire design team.

2010 Business Man of the Year: Sean Hogan

files/content/news/2010/Westfield_awards_ph2.jpgBill Parks, Sean Hogan and Kathleen Witalisz

The recipient of this award must posses outstanding leadership and professional excellence, as well the ability to inspire and act as a role model for other business professionals. They must also show exceptional personal achievement in the context of fulfilling the organizations mission and goals. The winner of the 2010 Man of the Year award was Sean Hogan, President of Hogan Communications. Hogan Communications is the area’s leading network installation and systems support company. “Team Hogan” is comprised of some of the best trained and most experienced technicians the industry. Sean Hogan is also the incoming 2nd Vice President for the Westfield Chamber.

Business Woman of the Year: Kathleen Damon

files/content/news/2010/Westfield_awards_ph3.jpgBill Parks, Kathleen Damon and Kathleen Witalisz

The criteria for this award is the same as that of the Business Man of the Year award. The award for the 2010 Woman of the Year went to Kathleen Damon, CEO of the Carson Center for Human Services. Kathleen is also active in other organizations such as: Westfield Rotary, Cancer House of Hope and Westfield State Foundation. Her drive, work ethic and ideas lead and inspire other business professionals to fulfill their organizations missions and goals. She is also on the Board of Directors for the Westfield Chamber.

Don Blair Outstanding Community Service Award: Al Ferst

The last award presented was the Don Blair Outstanding Community Service Award. This award was first presented last year in memory of dedicated and involved community member Don Blair. The award is given to a person who exemplifies what Don Blair stood for and believed in. This year’s recipient is Al Ferst. Al, who was not able to attend the ceremony, has helped many various organizations succeed in their missions. He has generously funded many projects in Westfield for the benefit of children.

Go back